Archiv für

»This particular “Story Behind the Story” essay has a back-story: The new crime thriller The Inquisitor’s Key is by New York Times bestselling author Jefferson Bass … but the fact is, there’s no such person as Jefferson Bass.«
Want to know more? Read on at the famous Rap Sheet Blog by J. Kingston Pierce.

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) have announced the winners of the 2012 EDGAR© Awards.

  • Best Novel: Gone by Mo Hayder
  • Best First Novel: Bent Road by Lori Roy
  • Best Paperback Original: The Company Man by Robert Jackson Bennett
  • Best Fact Crime: Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President by Candice Millard
  • Best Critical Biographical: On Conan Doyle: Or, the Whole Art of Storytelling by Michael Dirda
  • Best Short Story: The Man Who Took His Hat Off to the Driver of the Train Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by Peter Turnbull
  • Best Juvenile: Icefall by Matthew J. Kirby
  • Young Adult: The Silence of Murder by Dandi Daley Mackall
  • Play: The Game’s Afoot by Ken Ludwig
  • TV Episode: „Pilot“ – Homeland Teleplay by Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon & Gideon Raff
  • Robert L. Fish Memorial:A Good Man of Business Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine by David Ingram
  • Mary Higgins Clark Award: Learning to Swim by Sara J. Henry
  • Grand Master: Martha Grimes
  • The Raven:
    M is for Mystery Bookstore, San Mateo, CA
    Molly Weston, Meritorious Mysteries
  • Ellery Queen Award: Joe Meyers of the Connecticut Post/Hearst Media News Group

»It means a lot to Atkins that Parker, who died in January 2010, still gets most of the credit. After all, to his way of thinking, Parker is still the one in charge.«
David Martindale about the new novel Robert B. Parker’s Lullaby by Ace Atkins and why he was picked to keep Robert B. Parker’s Spenser series going. Read more at

»The structure of the book — a tale within a tale within a larger, ongoing tale — underscores another of its central points: the consolation to be found in stories.«
Bill Sheehan about The Wind Through the Keyhole by Stephen King. His review can be read at

»The rest of the “Crime Fiction: Listening In” panel at the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books on Sunday was almost an afterthought compared with that stranger-than-his-own-fiction anecdote from the author of the Bernie Gunther spy novels.«
August Brown about the panel with Paula Wood, Olen Steinhauer, Joseph Kanon and Philip Kerr. Read his report at